img

Mandatory minimum sentencing problems

Since 1979, New Jersey has imposed mandatory minimum sentences. Mandatory minimum sentences require the offender to serve the mandatory portion of their sentence before being eligible for parole. The median mandatory minimum sentence is five years in New Jersey. Additionally, offenders cannot reduce their mandatory minimum sentences by “earned credits” (commutation, minimum security, work). As of January 2012, 72 percent of adult offenders in New Jersey were serving mandatory minimum sentences, with 22 percent of those sentences being 15 years or more (for more information, click here).

New Jersey’s policy of mandatory minimum sentences makes the need for a strong defense of your case all the more important. Whether you have been accused, convicted or are currently incarcerated, you need an experienced defense attorney to fight for you and your rights.

Don’t go it alone and risk being required to serve a mandatory minimum sentence. Call 866-339-7801 or e-mail New Jersey criminal defense attorneys at Jack Venturi Law today.

Speak Your Mind

*