Solicitation of a Prostitute
New Brunswick Solicitation of a Prostitute Defense Lawyer
Perhaps the biggest issue with arrests involving allegations of the solicitation of a prostitute is entrapment and the actions of undercover police officers. In principle, undercover officers are not supposed to entice or encourage illegal activity. As such, an undercover officer posing as a prostitute is not supposed to approach prospective “Johns,” relentlessly encourage them to offer a price or behave in a sexually suggestive manner that involves sexual contact and touching. At the New Brunswick criminal defense office of Jack Venturi Law, our sexual offense attorneys have the knowledge and resources needed to identify questionable police reports, contradictory eyewitness testimony and misconduct on the part of undercover officers.
If your child has been accused of a crime it is important that neither you or your children answer questions, make statements or consent to searches by law enforcement.
Call 732-247-3340 today for a
free 30 minute consultation.
If you’ve been arrested for soliciting a prostitute, contact New Brunswick sex crimes attorneys at Jack Venturi Law today to schedule a discreet, confidential consultation protected by the attorney-client privilege.
What Counts as Solicitation of a Prostitute in New Jersey?
Under New Jersey law, soliciting a prostitute involves either offering to engage or engaging in sexual activity in exchange for money or property. Consequently, if an offer to pay someone for having sex is made either in person or over the Internet, the person making the offer could be charged with solicitation under state law. Technically, this means whether you’re offering to pay for sex or offering to provide sexual services for money, you’ll be charged under the same criminal statute.
What Are the Penalties in New Jersey if Convicted for Soliciting a Prostitute?
While each case is different and it may be possible to reduce the sentence or charges against you, in general, the following penalties are attached to a conviction for solicitation:
- First Conviction for Solicitation: Classified as a disorderly persons charge, a first-time conviction for solicitation carries a fine of up to $1,000 and six months in jail. The conviction will also go on your permanent criminal record.
- Second Conviction for Solicitation: Classified as a fourth-degree crime, a second or subsequent conviction for solicitation carries a fine determined by the court and up to 18 months in prison.
- Solicitation Involving a Minor: Classified as a third-degree crime, solicitation involving someone under the age of 18 involves fines determined by the court and a prison sentence of three to five years.
Charged with Solicitation? Contact Sex Offense Attorney Jack Venturi
Before you talk to prosecutors or consider a plea bargain, it’s essential that you understand your rights and how the criminal justice system works in these kinds of cases. Depending on your criminal record and the circumstances surrounding your case, it may be possible to have the charges against you dismissed or, at the very least, reduced. To learn how we can help you, call 732-247-3340 or email New Brunswick sex crimes defense attorneys at Jack Venturi Law today.