New Jersey Underage Gambling Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorneys
Although it might seem like a minor crime, underage gambling (5:12-119) is treated as a very serious crime in New Jersey. While most cases of underage gambling are heard in Atlantic City due to the location of the casinos, cases can be prosecuted elsewhere in New Jersey. Our team of tough, smart criminal defense attorneys are experienced in defending cases of underage gambling in Atlantic City and other courts in New Jersey. Thus, if you are being charged or you have been questioned by casino security, call the New Jersey law firm of Jack Venturi Law today to speak with one of our tough, smart defense lawyers today.
Penalties for charges of Underage Gambling in New Jersey
Even for first time offenders, the penalty for underage gambling in New Jersey includes a fine of $500 to $1000 as well as 6 months of driver’s license suspension. Probation, community service and jail time are also possible. Since this is a criminal offense, any conviction of underage gambling will result in a criminal record. Thus, this offense should be treated very seriously and as a result, you need a criminal defense attorney that will fight for you.
No plea bargaining in Underage Gambling Cases
In just about any court in New Jersey, you can expect to get a plea bargain offered to you. However, in Atlantic City, there are no plea bargains at all for underage gambling cases. Thus, your attorney has to be prepared to take your case to trial in order to avoid all of the mandatory penalties. While this ban on plea bargaining underage gambilng cases also applies to other courts in New Jersey, it may not be as strictly enforced as it is in New Jersey. Regardless of whether your case is in Atlantic City or another court, call the team of tough, smart New Jersey criminal defense attorneys today to fight the charges against you.
Our Criminal Defense Attorneys can also represent you with regard to these New Jersey Gambling Crimes:
- Promoting Gambling, N.J.S.A. 2C:37-2
- Possession of Gambling Records, N.J.S.A. 2C:37-3
- Maintenance of a Gambling Resort, N.J.S.A. 2C:37-4
- Shipboard Gambling, N.J.S.A. 2C:37-4.1
- Possession of a Gambling Device, N.J.S.A. 2C:37-7
- Underage Gambling, 5:12-119
- Swindling and Cheating, 5:12-113
- Use of Device to Obtain Advantage at Casino Game, 5:12-113.1
- Unlawful Use of Bogus Chip & Other Cheating Devices, 5:12-114
- Cheating Games & Devices in Casino, 5:12-115
- Possession or Use of Marked Cards & Loaded Dice, 5:12-115(b)
- Unlawful Possession of Device, Equipment or Other Material, 5:12-116
- Book Making
5:12-119 Gaming by certain persons prohibited; penalties; defenses
a. No person under the age at which a person is authorized to purchase and consume alcoholic beverages shall enter, or wager in, a licensed casino or simulcasting facility; provided, however, that such a person may enter a casino or simulcasting facility by way of passage to another room, and provided further, however, that any such person who is licensed or registered under the provisions of the “Casino Control Act,” P.L. 1977, c. 110 (C. 5:12-1 et seq.), may enter a casino or simulcasting facility in the regular course of the person’s permitted activities.
Any person who violates this subsection shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and shall be fined not less than $500 and not more than $1,000. In addition, the court shall suspend or postpone the person’s license to operate a motor vehicle for six months.
Upon the conviction of any person under this section, the court shall forward a report to the Division of Motor Vehicles stating the first and last day of the suspension or postponement period imposed by the court pursuant to this section. If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence is less than 17 years of age, the period of license postponement, including a suspension or postponement of the privilege of operating a motorized bicycle, shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed and shall run for a period of six months after the person reaches the age of 17 years.
If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence has a valid driver’s license issued by this State, the court shall immediately collect the license and forward it to the division along with the report. If for any reason the license cannot be collected, the court shall include in the report the complete name, address, date of birth, eye color, and sex of the person as well as the first and last date of the license suspension period imposed by the court.
If the person convicted under this section is not a New Jersey resident, the court shall suspend or postpone, as appropriate given the age at the time of sentencing, the non-resident driving privilege of the person and submit to the division the required report. The court shall not collect the license of a non-resident convicted under this section. Upon receipt of a report by the court, the division shall notify the appropriate officials in the licensing jurisdiction of the suspension or postponement.
From Newark to Trenton, Jersey City to Atlantic City, our New Jersey criminal defense attorneys will fight for you in any court in New Jersey. Call us today to discuss your case with an attorney that will fight for you!