Blog

CAN I BE ARRESTED FOR HAVING MARIJUANA PARAPHERNALIA?

In New Jersey it is illegal for a person to use or possess marijuana paraphernalia (N.J.S.A. 2C:36-2). Those using or possessing marijuana paraphernalia are guilty of a disorderly persons offense that can result in serious fines and up to six months in prison (N.J.S.A. 2C:43-8). It is no laughing ...

read more..

CHILD PORNOGRAPHY

CHILD PORNOGRAPHY NEW BRUNSWICK CHILD PORNOGRAPHY ATTORNEYS To date, a majority of Internet-related child pornography cases involve file sharing programs (like LimeWire), chat rooms and e-mail. In some cases, law enforcement has encoded certain pictures that notify agents whenever an illegal image h...

read more..

STALKING OFFENSES IN NEW JERSEY

With the national attention that’s been directed at responding to and curbing domestic violence, most states, including New Jersey, have enacted statutes providing criminal sanctions for anything considered to constitute stalking. Here’s what you need to know if you are under suspicion for or ...

read more..

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY — THE SCARLET LETTER OF THE 21ST CENTURY

New Jersey’s “Megan’s Law” (N.J.S.A. 2C:7-1 through 2C:7-11, available for viewing here) was enacted in 1994 after the death of a young girl at the hands of a twice-convicted sex offender. The law requires that anyone convicted of aggravated sexual assault, sexual assault, aggravated crimin...

read more..

MASS SHOOTINGS CONTINUE TO ESCALATE

MASS SHOOTINGS ON THE RISE In a recent study, looking at statistics from 2000 through 2013, the FBI found that the number of mass shootings in the latter years of the study nearly tripled the number of similar incidents in the early years. The report found 160 mass shootings during the 14 years stud...

read more..

MANDATORY MINIMUM SENTENCING PROBLEMS

Since 1979, New Jersey has imposed mandatory minimum sentences. Mandatory minimum sentences require the offender to serve the mandatory portion of their sentence before being eligible for parole. The median mandatory minimum sentence is five years in New Jersey. Additionally, offenders cannot reduce...

read more..

POSSESSION OF DRUG PARAPHERNALIA IN NEW JERSEY

In New Jersey, as in other states, police and prosecutors take drug crimes seriously. The penalties for possession of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS), trafficking, cultivation and conspiracy can be severe. But you don’t even have to be caught with illegal drugs. Like most other jurisdiction...

read more..

THE VALIDITY OF FIELD SOBRIETY TESTS

When you have been pulled over on the road in New Jersey, for any legal reason, and the police officer suspects that you may be operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, one of the first things you may be asked to do is submit to a field sobriety test. The purpose of t...

read more..

RESULTS: DISTRIBUTION

My client was charged with distribution of 10 pills of OxyCodone and looking at an extended term of 10 years in prison. Plain clothes officers claimed they viewed the exchange inside his car in a “high crime” area. Records I obtained under the Open Public Records Act, showed only 2 arrests in t...

read more..

POSSESSION OF CONTROLLED DANGEROUS SUBSTANCES IN NEW JERSEY

Though New Jersey has a number of laws governing the possession of illegal drugs, the Garden State takes a slightly different approach than most other jurisdictions. Specifically, New Jersey classifies certain drugs as “controlled dangerous substances.” While marijuana falls under the definition...

read more..