New Brunswick Prostitution Defense Lawyer
Choose Jack Venturi Law to Protect Your Rights
Perhaps the biggest issue with arrests involving allegations of prostitution or solicitation is entrapment and the actions of undercover police officers. In principle, undercover officers are not supposed to entice or encourage illegal activity. Undercover officers posing as prostitutes are not supposed to approach prospective “Johns,” relentlessly encourage them to offer a price, or behave in a sexually suggestive manner that involves sexual contact and touching.
At Jack Venturi Law, our prostitution defense attorney in New Brunswick has the knowledge and resources needed to identify questionable police reports, contradictory eyewitness testimony, and misconduct on the part of undercover officers. We serve clients in Middlesex County and throughout New Jersey.
What Counts as Solicitation of a Prostitute in New Jersey?
Under New Jersey law, soliciting a prostitute involves either offering to engage or engaging in sexual activity in exchange for money or property. Consequently, if an offer to pay someone for having sex is made either in person or over the internet, the person making the offer could be charged with solicitation under state law. Technically, this means whether you’re offering to pay for sex or offering to provide sexual services for money, you’ll be charged under the same criminal statute.
Potential Prostitution Penalties
While each case is different and it may be possible to reduce the sentence or charges against you, in general, the penalties upon conviction of solicitation depend on the circumstances of the situation and whether the crime is a first-time or subsequent offense.
The following penalties are attached to solicitation convictions:
- First conviction for solicitation: Classified as a disorderly persons charge, a first-time conviction for solicitation carries a fine of up to $1,000 and 6 months in jail. The conviction will also go on your permanent criminal record.
- Second conviction for solicitation: Classified as a fourth-degree crime, a second or subsequent conviction for solicitation carries a fine determined by the court and up to 18 months in prison.
- Solicitation involving a minor: Classified as a third-degree crime, solicitation involving someone under the age of 18 involves fines determined by the court and a prison sentence of 3 to 5 years.
Charged with Solicitation? Contact Jack Venturi Law
Before you talk to prosecutors or consider a plea bargain, it’s essential that you understand your rights and how the criminal justice system works in these kinds of cases. Depending on your criminal record and the circumstances surrounding your case, it may be possible to have the charges against you dismissed or, at the very least, reduced.
Assault Not Guilty
Identity Theft Charges Not Guilty
Kidnapping and Aggravated Assault Lesser Charge
Murder and Weapons Charges Lesser Charge
Possessing a Prohibited Device/Weapon Lesser Charge
Possession of 2 Handguns Probation with No Prison Time
Possession of a Handgun Not Guilty
If needed, our firm will go to battle for you. We will fight to defend your rights and protect your future.
We are creative and insightful in finding weak points in the prosecution's case and developing the best defenses.
We will go the extra mile to ensure that we do everything we can in order to achieve the best possible outcome.
Decades of Experience
Attorney Jack Venturi has four decades of legal experience. His vast knowledge of law sets him apart from his competitors.