Possession and distribution of drugs, narcotics and controlled dangerous substances (CDS) are common crimes that carry tough penalties; even for first offenders. In addition to facing a felony criminal record and jail or prison time, you may also be facing a loss of your driver’s license for 6 to 24 months even if the offense did not involve a motor vehicle.
If your child has been accused of a crime it is important that neither you or your children answer questions, make statements or consent to searches by law enforcement.
Call 732-247-3340 today for a free 30 minute consultation.
*Legal advice will be given upon hiring our firm.
Our New Jersey CDS defense attorney can represent you in any court in New Jersey with regard to any of these charges:
a. it shall be unlawful for any person knowingly or purposely:
(1) To manufacture, distribute or dispense, or to possess or have under his control with intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog; or
(2) To create, distribute, or possess or have under his control with intent to distribute, a counterfeit controlled dangerous substance.
b. Any person who violates subsection a. with respect to:
(1) Heroin, or its analog, or coca leaves and any salt, compound, derivative, or preparation of coca leaves, and any salt, compound, derivative, or preparation thereof which is chemically equivalent or identical with any of these substances, or analogs, except that the substances shall not include decocainized coca leaves or extractions which do not contain cocaine or ecogine, or 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine or 3,4-methylenedioxyamphetamine, in a quantity of five ounces or more including any adulterants or dilutants is guilty of a crime of the first degree. The defendant shall, except as provided in N.J.S. 2C:35-12, be sentenced to a term of imprisonment by the court. The term of imprisonment shall include the imposition of a minimum term which shall be fixed at, or between, one-third and one-half of the sentence imposed, during which the defendant shall be ineligible for parole. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a. of N.J.S. 2C:43-3, a fine of up to $ 500,000.00 may be imposed;
(2) A substance referred to in paragraph (1) of this subsection, in a quantity of one-half ounce or more but less than five ounces, including any adulterants or dilutants is guilty of a crime of the second degree;
(3) A substance referred to in paragraph (1) of this subsection in a quantity less than one-half ounce including any adulterants or dilutants is guilty of a crime of the third degree except that, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S. 2C:43-3, a fine of up to $ 75,000.00 may be imposed;
Our narcotics defense lawyer will fight for you in any court in New Jersey. With an office in New Brunswick, we are easy to reach from anywhere in New Jersey. Call us today to begin the fight against your New Jersey drug charges!
Contact Jack Venturi Law to speak with an experienced lawyer regarding your case.
Free Initial Consultations
All major credit cards accepted
Weekend and evening appointments available